Blessings

Occasionally I will hear that quiet, still, small voice of God and I will get the urge to write. This is what I ended up writing last night:
I am blessed beyond measure. Sure I have a lot of bills that I have trouble paying and I have some health issues but there are still those who are less fortunate than I am. I have a roof over my head while there are those who have no roof over their heads. I have clothes on my back while there are those who have dirty and tattered scraps of cloth for their clothes. I have food on my table when there are those who haven’t eaten in days.
When I get a paycheck or some unexpected money comes in, I say that it was a blessing. Not for the material things that I may buy but for the work that money does when I give to ministries that feed the hungry and clothe the poor. Far too often, society looks down on these outcasts, the homeless. They are people just like you and me. They are people who have fallen on hard times and can’t seem to find a way out.
They are people who may have come home from a war, after seeing unimaginable things, only to find that things aren’t the way they thought it would be. They fight their own demons and sometimes just need someone who will listen. They are people who would rather have a hand up than a hand out. They are just as valuable and have just as much to offer the world as a CEO of a big corporation.
Jesus said, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ (Matthew 25: 35-36). We have to help each other out with a hand up and words of encouragement.
You never know who is an angel in disguise. “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ (Matthew 40).

Leave a Reply

